All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:21 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:56 am
Posts: 72
Location: Italy
A render for the Red team - Arctic environment

Camo used:
M05 [Finland], PenCott-Snowdrift [USA], SnakePlissken
M05 [Finland], Kryptek yeti [USA], PenCott-Snowdrift [USA]

_________________
http://marze3d.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:35 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:36 am
Posts: 433
Location: tri(p) city
this is pure gold, i would love to play test those on cqb serv... oh wait ;{


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:32 pm 
Offline
High Master
High Master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 566
Location: Under the hood.
Yeah!
Lets play on that serv...
oh wait.
:evil:

_________________
Image
C4 Corvette, love her till my death.
http://www.teamgonzo.net
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3332770
http://www.youtube.com/user/GONZOUncleBionic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:51 pm 
Offline
Master
Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:36 am
Posts: 433
Location: tri(p) city
setting up server is an easy task compared to dealing with good old drama: pb and server lags, no anticheat, notorious cheaters and no fixes for most common issues ;) nobody will even try to build community for game with no regular support :whocares:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:50 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:56 am
Posts: 72
Location: Italy
I Made some variations for the arctic environment for the spec ops team.

Camo used: Schneetarn [Germany]

All the variations of the textures I have made for the player models are about 1 GB (.tga) so will probably I'm forced to convert everything to jpg and/or to include only those actually used. After I put a bit of order I will probably prepare two packages. The first one for the essential files and the other one for the extra textures. Afterwards I will work on the heads with basic facial animations and I will make another additional package.

I would also like to complete the high-poly mesh of a knife I'm designing according to my experience (I'm a knifes lover) to print it in 3d.

$omator & gonzo|Uncle Bionic
You can easy test my old Z_CQB_players_20150508.pk3 package on a TCE server (unfortunately CQB is not unlocked).
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/lkfbnqhn6vos ... =326867460

Bugs for the Z_CQB_player package (tested with TCE):
- Sniper2 ignore the configuration and use same cap of Assault1

_________________
http://marze3d.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:40 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:56 am
Posts: 72
Location: Italy
Hi guys, I just write to tell you I'm not sleeping but I'm on the ball. There are good news and bad news.
- Good news
In addition to what I have shown before, I have completed seven head models with their animations. I converted all of the texture into jpg to reduce dimensions and save some memory. I am preparing the preliminary package and am eliminating all the errors I find. The result in the game seems to me very good.

- Bad news
With the new package the memory error when changing the map (ERROR: VirtualAlloc commit failed. Attempt to access invalid address.) is constantly present and I do not hide that I'm frustrated and depressed.
If I use the old pakage with the same installation I have no error. I'm convinced that the solution must be searched within the code limits (probably based on the amount of PC RAM of 15 years ago) such as these lines in tr_image.c

if (strstr (token, "md3_"))
{
if (skin-> numModels> MAX_PART_MODELS)
{
Ren_Warning ("WARNING: Ignoring models in '% s', the max is% d! N", name, MAX_PART_MODELS);
break;

I still have to do many tests (for example using ET Legacy or maybe reducing the length of md3 or texture names) but I think that only the experience and capabilities of a programmer can solve the problem.
If I do not solve the issue then I release the package only to make it evaluated by betatester volunteers. Who find the solution win at least 10 beers.

_________________
http://marze3d.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:23 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:56 am
Posts: 72
Location: Italy
I probably understand what's the problem. As I thought It looks like we have got some limit for the .md3 that can be included in the .skin file.

_________________
http://marze3d.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:10 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:56 am
Posts: 72
Location: Italy
I think I've finally found out the problem generated by my package ("VirtualAlloc commit failed - Attempt to access invalid address"). I think that it could be linked to the amount of md3 that you can handle from skin files and to some variable not properly sized/defined ( maybe here --> tr_image, tr_model.c or cg_character.c).

For example, in tr_image I find the following lines:
if (strstr (token, "md3_"))
{
if (skin-> numModels> MAX_PART_MODELS)
{
Ren_Warning ("WARNING: Ignoring models in '% s', the max is% d! N", name, MAX_PART_MODELS);
break;

1) initially I had this error:
------ Server Initialization ------
Server: obj_snow
RE_Shutdown( 0 )
********************
ERROR: VirtualAlloc commit failed.
Attempt to access invalid address.

********************
----- Server Shutdown -----
---------------------------
RE_Shutdown( 0 )

I solved commenting on the last two lines in head04a.skin (tested on windows TCE/CQB + all tce maps + cqb_sample)

head, "models/players/hud/head04a"
teeth, "models/players/hud/teeth01"
eye1, "models/players/hud/eye03"
eye2, "models/players/hud/eye03"
//eye_patch01, "models/players/hud/head04a"
//hair01, "models/players/hud/hair01"


2) Then came this error:
LOADING... - classes
^1ERROR: characters/temperate/axis/soldier.char, line 4: unknown token 'skinGroup'
********************
ERROR: ERROR: CG_RegisterPlayerClasses: failed to load character file 'characters/temperate/axis/soldier.char' for the Axis Soldier
********************
----- Server Shutdown -----

I solved commenting //md3_beltr in body_s.skin (tested on windows TCE/CQB + all tce maps + cqb_sample)

..
//md3_back, "models/players/temperate/allied/acc/backpack.md3"
//md3_beltr, "models/players/temperate/allied/acc/beltr_pouch01_b.md3"
md3_beltl, "models/players/temperate/allied/acc/beltl_pouch01_b.md3"
md3_belt, "models/players/temperate/allied/acc/belt_pouch01_b.md3"
md3_legr, "models/players/temperate/allied/acc/legr_holster01_b.md3"
md3_legl, "models/players/temperate/allied/acc/legl_pouch01_b.md3"
l_legs, "models/players/temperate/allied/legs02blue_woodland01"
u_body, "models/players/temperate/allied/body01blue_woodland01"
u_rthand, "models/players/temperate/common/hands01"
u_lfthand, "models/players/temperate/common/hands01"


3) ET Legacy works but does not load some shader/md3 assets and I find these WARNING
LOADING... - classes
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s3.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: failed to register skin 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s.skin' referenced from 'characters/temperate/axis/soldier.char'
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p11.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p22.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p01.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p02.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p10.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p12.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p20.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/soldier/body_s_p21.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/medic/body_s3.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: Ignoring models in 'models/players/temperate/axis/medic/body_s.skin', the max is 5!
^3WARNING: failed to register skin 'models/players/temperate/axis/medic/body_s.skin' referenced from 'characters/temperate/axis/medic.char'


It could also be the cause for crash when using Z_CQB_Viewarms_sg552_20160208.pk3 that contains the arms and the sig552?
I used 7 parts in sg552rdsd.weap adding tags to make a compound weapon (and doing also animations to mount/unmount the sight/suppressor/foregrip)
part 0
{
tag "tag_main"
model "models/weapons2/sg552/sg552_view_main.mdc"
}
part 1
{
tag "tag_clip"
model "models/weapons2/sg552/sg552_view_clip.mdc"
}
part 2
{
tag "tag_slide"
model "models/weapons2/sg552/sg552_view_slide.mdc"
}
part 3
{
tag "tag_sight"
model "models/weapons2/sight/sight_view_reddot.mdc"
}
part 4
{
tag "tag_suppr"
model "models/weapons2/silencer/silencer_view_silencer01.mdc"
}
part 5
{
tag "tag_clip2"
model "models/weapons2/sg552/sg552_view_clip.mdc"
}
part 6
{
tag "tag_fgrip"
model "models/weapons2/grip/grip_view_foregrip01.mdc"
}

Is it a partial limit for individual characters .skin file or is a total limit? I don't know, but It would be nice to touch the code in such a way that these treshold are increased.

The package is pretty much ready and need to be tested. Maybe it's a good idea make some screenshots at the maximum resolution. In any case, it's better use the "seta com_ignorecrash 1" option to prevent that some crash reset the configuration at the low resolution. Maybe in the future we could include the full body model in the deploy menu, using cqb_menu_idle & cqb_menu_lookweap animations (cqb_common.aninc in the Z_CQB_animations_20150513) or use head animations like pain or attack sequence.

It would be great if coroner could check the code to see if he can change the limits of md3 manageable via .skin files

You can check my last package Z_CQB_players_20171109.pk3 here -->
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/lkfbnqhn6vos ... =326867460

_________________
http://marze3d.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:58 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:00 pm
Posts: 75
I will post your problem on ET:Legacy forums. ET:Legacy team seems to be the only group, which is tinkering with ET source code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:51 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:00 pm
Posts: 75
IR4T4@Etlegacy.com wrote:
His problem is related to the engine (vanilla and etl). There is a limit of MAX_PART_MODELS = 5 but marze is using 7 parts.
See skinModel_t *models[MAX_PART_MODELS];

ETL is extended to print a warning and doesn’t process more than 5 parts. In vanilla there is no such limit check and the code might run into array out of bounds issues if more parts are used –> crash.

https://dev.etlegacy.com/boards/1/topics/3311


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:15 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:56 am
Posts: 72
Location: Italy
Thank you yks.
Unfortunately I already knew that the problem was MAX_PART_MODELS as i wrote but I think we/they miss the point.
I mean, it makes sense to have this kind of limit if you're rewriting and updating the engine? We really need the MAX_PART_MODELS = 5?
I also posted in the Internal Forums of CQB Dev.

Since I'm not even convinced that there is any intention to release a unlocked version of CQB I decided to move my focus on TCE.
I started working on my arms and I reduced the number of polygons and improving some animation to use as example. When finished I can release the .obj/.fbx/.max files so that others can also contribute by adding / improving other weapons.
But now there is a problem as there are three different models of arms: sleeves / sleeves + pads / forearm.
How do I use a arms model for everyone except for covertops and sniper?
Probably I can make two versions of the same weapon and two .weap like this:

mp5_view (for all)
firstPerson {
model "models/weapons2/mp5/mp5_view.mdc"
axisskin "models/weapons2/mp5/sleeve_hold2.skin"
alliedskin "models/weapons2/mp5/sleeve_hold.skin"

mp5_view_special (for covert & sniper)
firstPerson {
model "models/weapons2/mp5/mp5_view_special.mdc"
axisskin "models/weapons2/mp5/forearm_hold2.skin"
alliedskin "models/weapons2/mp5/forearm_hold.skin"

and touch the .gear file, and use mp5_view_special to only to covertops and sniper using "requiredSkill

gm_weapon
{
weaponID "TH1"
weaponFile "mp5"
team "specops"
slot "primary"
requiredSkill 0 0 1
startClips 3
equivalentWeaponID "SH7"
}

I also forgot about something important... first person animations must be synchronized with those third person...

However I made from scratch the model of the m83 smoke granade and realized the animation (including also the safety lever)
Now I'm working on the animation for the AK47. The Ak47 model is very well done but I had to scale it and clean it from lots double faces (probably due to a non-optimal exporter) and currently is not next gen compliant.
I do not know the author. If someone knows the author of the AK47 mesh can give me his contact?. I need to have his permission to scale/clean e make some tuning.
thank you.

_________________
http://marze3d.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CQB_player
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:21 am 
Offline
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:00 pm
Posts: 75
IR4T47@ET:Legacy forums wrote:
MAX_PART_MODELS has been increased to 7.

I had to adjust the character files in Z_CQB_players_20171109.pk3:
'skinGroup’ and 'skinRoot’ aren’t valid vanilla keywords. After deleting both lines in all char files the pk3 loads fine.

Marze wrote:

2) Then came this error:
LOADING... - classes
^1ERROR: characters/temperate/axis/soldier.char, line 4: unknown token 'skinGroup'
********************
ERROR: ERROR: CG_RegisterPlayerClasses: failed to load character file 'characters/temperate/axis/soldier.char' for the Axis Soldier
********************
----- Server Shutdown -----

I solved commenting //md3_beltr in body_s.skin (tested on windows TCE/CQB + all tce maps + cqb_sample)

I don’t think he has to drop md3_beltr, the error is about the above keywords.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Style created by © Matti, gry komputerowe, reklama sem reklama seo

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group